Making it Home

The original plan for re-patriating included a stop in Arizona (the children’s home state), a visit to Utah (my home state) and then the arrival to Missouri (the new home state).  We departed The Netherlands on 15 June and scheduled the travel to land us at our new place 15 July.  As it is with all best laid plans, that’s just not how it happened.

Instead we scrapped plan A in lieu of plan B and after a week in Arizona, recovering from jet lag, getting acquainted with the sun and spending time with old friends, we boarded a plane for St. Louis. That’s where you’ll find me now. St. Louis, MO.

It all feels rather surreal still.

So, as a cat lands on her feet, I have been on mine for the better part of  this month taking on and making up projects to make this new house our home.

I’ll share some pictures if  you like:

I’ve had help. Lots of it. Some of it willing and able in the form of my Dad who drove up from Texas to act as foreman to all projects.  (My dad is an absolute star!).  My darling husband and his unsuspecting brother lay a new kitchen floor over the 4th of July weekend. And the kids, of course, have had their hands in plaster, their fingers in paint, and their toes doused in grout. 

As for me, I couldn’t be more pleased. Not just with the outcome but with the complex project as a whole. I am reminded of essays I’ve read and studies I have seen on the power of color. As a reflection or an indication of who we are and what we are made of, color has a tremendous impact on our psyche.  The palette of calm  and zest we are applying here to the places and spaces in our house makes me aware that this is where we will rest. This is where we will play. This is where we will work, where we will relax, where we will live and where we will love. 

Home.

Here.

Now.

Tagged , ,

17 thoughts on “Making it Home

  1. Lilacspecs says:

    Welcome home 🙂
    CB was wondering how much stuff you actually took back with you and how you managed it.

    • mojenn says:

      Lilac,
      We shipped about 4 cubic meters worth of belongings stateside. We are still awaiting that shipment, by the way, but I believe it’s actually sitting in a New York dock waiting for a customs check. We decided not to move furniture and things (all Ikea purchased) as it didn’t make a lot of sense to pay more to ship than what the items were worth! Call us silly. 🙂
      Meantime, we packed our luggage allowance and came with our allotment of suitcases. The fun of culling down to nothing means the starting over includes fun furniture shopping and more!

      ~jenn

  2. Isabella says:

    The colors are great! Very lively & calming at the same time 🙂

  3. capitolady says:

    Great colors! Welcome home!

  4. If you were in AZ in mid-June, then you came at a good time. The weather was pretty mild then. Now, of course, it’s quite brutal.

    The colors are very fresh. They signal a new beginning, don’t you think?

    • mojenn says:

      Arizona was PERFECT in mid-June. We couldn’t believe our good weather luck!
      And yes, “new beginning” is most definitely on my mind too…

      ~jenn

  5. Hi Jenn,

    I meant to write to you months ago when someone suggested that I should invite you to list your blog on our Expat Women Blog Directory (www.expatwomen.com/expatblog/). Looks like I’m a bit late and you have a new blog. 🙂

    Anyway, repatriate blogs welcome too, so you’re still very much invited to list, if you’d like to.

    All my best wishes to you now you’re back home.

    Andrea Martins
    Director, http://www.expatwomen.com

    PS. I put something in our latest newsletter about my repatriating experiences. Might interest you: http://www.expatwomen.com/newsletters/july2009.php

    Best,

  6. Goofball says:

    damn you….why did you move to the middle of nowhere where I have no clue about places, geography, climat, distances? Now you start talking chinese to me! couln’t you have picked some big coastal city like Seattle, New York, San Francisco or Kijkduin that I’d be able to mentally picture???
    Pff google maps is such a nuisance.

    Love the colors too, like everybody else

    Oh and where’s the steep staircase in your pictures???

    • mojenn says:

      I will do my best to get you some landmarks in your head and describe this part of the USA for you. Keep in mind, I’ve never been here before either and have absolutely NO IDEA where anything is in relation to where I am. But I’ll figure it out, and you can figure it out with me!

      ~jenn

  7. Goofball says:

    by the way, you also moved to wordpress? do you like it a lot more?

  8. Kate says:

    boo hoo… home indeed it is. I’m so glad you have started blogging and that I can see your home and feel part of your world. Next stop skype… xxxxxxxxxx
    ps I hope you have red in there somewhere

    • mojenn says:

      Oh, Kate, you will be so thrilled to know that ALL the small appliances in my kitchen (coffee maker, toaster, crock pot, microwave) are RED! And I just bought a gorgeous clock/ wall decoration in red which meant I could paint the coffee table (found at goodwill) with RED accents.
      Yup. You’d like it!

      ~jenn

  9. Anneke says:

    I’m with Goofball on both the geography and the staircase.

    Also, the colours are absolutely gorgeous! I love the blue and greytones.

    Btw, I didn’t tell you yet I think, but I moved too! Not a big move (like an ocean away) but still, if you remember where my familiy lived, like ALL my family, and then consider that I’m one of the first to actually leave the village… 😀

    Anyway, does home feel like home yet? Are you guys troubled with reversed culture shock? I hope not!

    • mojenn says:

      Fantastic, Anneke! Where have you settled? Is this the move to school that we talked about months back? I am happy for you and hope you find yourself settling well!

      ~jenn

  10. Jenn says:

    Yay, it is looking really nice.

    I’m two months behind you with the whole moving thing.

  11. jodifur says:

    I’m just moving across town and I’m a stressed out mess. I can’t even imagine.

Leave a Reply

