Making Her Day

She didn’t give herself away, the genuine smile on her face remained and there was no real visible rise of excitement in her cheek as I answered her “How can I help you today?” question with my matter of fact statement.

“Hi, I’ve just moved to town from The Netherlands with my family and I need to furnish a house.” Which certainly can’t happen everyday to a  furniture salesperson. Especially so in the economic climate, or cloud, the USA is under.

“Okay, then. Tell me what you’re looking for”. 

“Let’s start with dining rooms”. I said.

Then I shopped. Shopped until Andrew dropped (there is only so much couch jumping a six year old can do in an afternoon) and even as she totalled it all up and made arrangements for delivery later in the month, she appeared gathered and calm as if selling a full house of furniture to an eager buyer might be a run of the mill experience. I signed the receipts and sealed the deal. She just kept smiling. I had to giggle at her calm, really, and wonder at what her internal dialouge might have been. I am sure the words “ka-ching” had to be be intermingled with her thoughts as she  reflected on her work day.

So, all for all, it’s right that I got a handwritten thank you note in the post the next day.

What a difference a day makes.

Tagged ,

9 thoughts on “Making Her Day

  1. Goofball says:

    can you make furniture decisions in one day? you don’t need to like visit a dozen stores, compare color samples, run around back home with a meter and make drawings?

    gosh you are amazing!

    (as is the sales lady!)

  2. Sales people love decisive buyers. I think you BOTH done good. *grin*

  3. capitolady says:

    Ouch! the thought of the bill gives me a headache. 🙂 You might have had your feet kissed if I was the sales lady.

  4. Now that is just awesome. You gave her the business (and hopefully commission), she sent you a thank you note (unheard of) and you will have new furniture for your newly painted home.

    Wow.

  5. patois says:

    Wow, she miust have been so bloody happy. Yeah, a hand-written note — along with an offer to paint your house — is totally within reason.

  6. Brillig says:

    hahahahaha. can you even imagine? I bet she’s STILL talking about you with joy, gratitude, and amazement.

    I wish I could make someone’s day like that. (And, of course, what I mean by that is that I hate every last piece of furniture in my house and I’m DYING of envy that you get to start from scratch!)

  7. Leslie says:

    This made me smile. Jenn, I’ve missed you! And I’m pretty excited about having you in the U.S.

  8. Carla says:

    What fun, furniture shopping.

  9. fourier.analyst says:

    You and Don know that I am still NOT happy about all this….*sigh*.

Leave a Reply

