Song in my heart

You may have heard me say it before: I walk to the beat of my own fully outfitted percussion section. I am rather proud of the fact that the rhythm in my head leads me in life. I feel I can trust the steady boom-boom-boom that echoes behind decisions for me.  Maybe that’s the beat of my heart which races with the thrill of new adventure or accompanies personal discovery. I wouldn’t know how to otherwise define it.

In recent months, there have been several of those decisions, thrills and discoveries. I don’t suppose any of that will be ending anytime soon. But for all the wild caucauphony that has been the orchestration of relocation for this family of five, we find ourselves now stepping to a steady, comfortable beat, in its own right the soothing sound of settling in.

Andrew is thriving in Kindergarten.

Emma dramatically steps into her place in Middle School.

Ian meets and beats the challenges of American High School curriculum.

Don holds his place and his prestige at this new position with grace and strength.

Me, I just keep making plans.

But the sound of this music can best be summed up with the lyric that follows.

The rhythm of my heart is beating like a drum
with the words  ‘I love you’  rolling off my tongue
Never will I roam for I know my place is home
where the ocean meets the sky
I’ll be sailing

Rhythm of My Heart, Rod Stewart 1991

MUSIC MONDAY 

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Song in my heart

  1. I’m going to leave that whole silliness about “I make the plans” aside (sheesh woman! you are the GLUE! the motivator! The most important person in that family. There. I’ll put the really tall horse away).

    Great song and great use of the lyrics. You know how to capture a mood.

    • mojenn says:

      And you, Miss Allison, are the woman with the sweetest damn words, all the damn time. Thanks for that.

      ~jenn

  2. Leslie says:

    Oh Jenn. You are absolutely wonderful.

Leave a Reply

