Ready for floating

It’s raining, pouring, outside.

Last night as I lay in my bed, listening to my old man snoring the white noise of the rainstorm, I felt soothed and washed; swept away, even. When it rains here in MO, it rains in earnest. This is so different from the relentless rain of The Netherlands. There, it seems, rain is the constant, the norm, the backdrop for every day’s events. It’s not so much that it rains a lot in Holland as it is that it rains constantly through the seasons. The continual drizzle wears and tears at the psyche and pulls the corners of the mouth downward. Also, it wreaks havoc on a tan.

Missouri rain, on the other hand, feels like rain with a purpose. Rain that falls in an attempt to do its job and do it well. Rain that will be relentless, but only for a time, not forever.  As a point of contrast and comparison, the total rainfall each year in Missouri and The Netherlands is nearly the same, with MO besting NL by a few inches.  This is what I mean by purposeful rainfall. There is a quota to fill and the rain clouds of MO seem intent to do it in record time, dumping rain to the earth in measurable buckets, then they move on.  Cue sunshine and blue skies, the rain is gone. No chance for the rainy day blues to linger and become the actual blues, or extend to SAD.  This means very good things for me.

What the chattering puh-puh-puh-pupupupupu of the rain means for me is the accompaniment to my dreams at night and my waking steps in the early hours of day.  This morning, with the pitter-pat-a-pat-a-pat still at play on the windows of my bedroom, I couldn’t stop the rhythm from turning to melody,  chasing down lyric.  (Seriously, how can I keep from singing?)

“Well, if it rains, I don’t care
Don’t make no difference to me
Just take that street car
That’s going uptown

Yeah, I’d like to hear
Some funky Dixieland
And dance a honky tonk
and I’ll be buying everybody
Drinks all round”*

And so it rains, and I don’t care. In fact, I am captivated, inspired, and  ultimately charmed.  Missouri, for all its surprises, is doing just that: it charms me. From the summer fireflies, to the autumn colors, to the bright harvest moon in clear skies, I am charmed. 

“Keep on shining your light
Gonna make everything
Everything, gonna make
Everything all right”*

And now, for the rest of the music. But before you go (press play), I should also like to mention that the Mississippi River runs through my new state; near my home, actually.  Therefore, by rights, poetic or otherwise, this tune is mine in a way that I’ve not been able to claim before.  This is the rhythm of my day.  You can sing too, if you like.

“Pretty mama, come and
Take me by the hand
By the hand (hand) take me
By the hand, pretty mama”*

Funky harmony is a marvelous thing.

 “Come and dance with
Your daddy all night long”*

Come on, climb aboard the raft with me.

 “… [we] ain’t got no worries
Cause [we] ain’t in no hurry at all”*

*Doobie Brothers, Black Water, 1974

MUSIC MONDAY
Hosted by SMID

Tagged , ,

7 thoughts on “Ready for floating

  1. By the hand, hand, take me by the hand, pretty Mama, dance with your Daddy allllll night long!

  2. Warren Parkin says:

    Glad you love the weather. Thanks for the song. Used to spend hours calling the radio station to vote it the song of the night. A bit chastened by your new claim to the South. All Florida has to offer is the state song, “Old Folks at Home.” Read the lyrics, you’ll understand what I mean. The Doobies Rock!

    • mojenn says:

      Oh, goodness, call-in radio shows! Now, there’s a memory worth chasing.
      Come on up to ol’ Saint Louie. Maybe we can ride the river together.

      ~jenn

  3. I love the line about rain with a purpose. That is lovely writing there.

    Thanks for playing!!!

  4. […] Ready for floating « Finding My Way […]

Leave a Reply

