Convergence

First of all, giving credit where credit is due, I would like to thank Allison, of Soccer Mom in Denial, for pointing out to me that this day happened. It’s not that  DOMINO DAY escaped my attention intentionally this year  (I mean, honestly, who would forget  DOMINO DAY?), it’s just that I am not sure I ever knew that DOMINO DAY existed, full stop.  However, now that I’ve Google searched it, I can see just how very remiss I am in this knowledge breach. And I am only being a little facetious.

For your education (and mine) I offer the video below.  I apologize to non-Dutch speakers as there doesn’t seem to be an extended video offering in English as yet, but you’ll get the gist of what’s happening. Also, I think you’ll get a kick out of the intermingled English inside of Dutch. It’s a great language to speak, Nederengels, as it can sound altogether familiar and foreign in a single sentence. The video is on the long side for a typical blog stop, but I promise you it’s well worth the watch. Pour yourself a cup before you press play and enjoy the massive (if only partial) display of the world-record domino tumble.  Yes, set in The Netherlands, 2009.

Beste Nederlanders, ik mist je zo. Gefeliciteerd met de domino dag! Hoera!

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “Convergence

  1. Ahhhhh…… The Netherlands. I always think of it when I think of Dominos.

    • mojenn says:

      Apparently, you’re going to have to! It seems they are very intent on besting this record year after year. Doesn’t look like anyone is offering real competition, either. This is just the Dutchies after an empire once again. Albeit, this time it’s a toy empire. Hehe.

      ~jenn

  2. Goofball says:

    you’ve lived 4 years in the Netherlands and not knowing about Domino Day? Gosh we had a Belgian radio station being on site for 2 days for Domino day!

    I wasn’t aware though that they were not getting competition by other countries, but just trying to break their own record all the time :p. I just figured we only got the Dutch domino days on tv.
    I remember the tension as a kid though for the first domino days in the 80ies….watching all the stones rattle on and on in my pyamas on the carpet 🙂

    • mojenn says:

      Sadly, it’s true. 4 years in NL and I missed the cultural event of Domino Day. I feel that I’ve been robbed of an authentic dutch experience!

      If you click on the third link above, you’ll see that other countries have indeed vied for a spot on this world record tumbling activity. But it’s The Netherlands alone that leads the pack. Yes, even China appears to have bowed out back in 2000. I’m telling you, dominoes today, empire tomorrow!

      ~jenn

  3. Anneke says:

    Haha! Yeah, it’s all about ruling the world! Mwuhahaha! 😉

Leave a Reply

