Where the heart is

If  I am part of your feed, it may shock you greatly to see this pop up in the reader. I’m not sure I’m sure about what I’m doing. Or how long I’ll be doing it. Again. The one thing I do know is that my fingers are itchy to write, so that is what I shall do. Right here.

Quickly, here’s the sum up. We’ve moved. Again. This time a full circle return to the very place we left six years ago. And by very place I mean VERY PLACE. We are living in Phoenix, Arizona in the SAME HOUSE we lived in before. That’s a bit of a story in itself, and it’s one that might be told here soon enough, but for now that’s what you need to know. I am teaching, the kids are schooling, and my man has returned to the world of the courts.

We are living in Arizona.

We are home.

That, perhaps, is the very thing I wanted to write about: home. If you’ve read me much, you’ll remember that I’ve oft expressed the way my writing takes me where it wants to go, far and away more often than my own thoughts dictate the course of the essay. I am used to it. The only thing I know to do when my fingers itch is to get my fingers to a keyboard and write. Here I am.

This is what I’ve been thinking about.

Home.

In recent years we, as a family, have had a few of those. In a few places. Houses of loveliness and practicality, one which we still own in addition to this one where we live. In six years there have been six houses–or dwelling places–on two continents, in two countries, two states, and five cities.  Each with their own stories and adventures attached. And, here’s the interesting bit, we’ve been home every time, in every house. Yet, I proclaimed at the start of this piece that we are home here. And while I am sure there are many who’ve waxed poetic in a variety of ways on what makes a house a home, I think I’d like to add my thoughts.

Because I get it.

Home is not a place. Home is a heart state. Meaning, when you invest yourself in the locale, the culture, the neighbors, and the whole experience of the place you live you find yourself at home. For me this is a most defined effort to create and sustain a people community. I like people. I need them. So, whether I am living near my dearest friends, finding new friends in a new city, reuniting with people from my past, or even connecting with those friends I’ve not yet met in the flesh, I know that where my people are, that is where I am home.

Arizona, Missouri, The Netherlands; it’s all the same. Home is what I carry with me.

The house location just doesn’t matter.

Tagged , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Where the heart is

  1. Loril Gunn says:

    Glad you let your itchy fingers loose…love your thoughts on home. I do believe you can take your “home” with you wherever you go. Glad you are settling in to a place that
    Resonated with your heart.Home. sweet. home! Xoxox LL

  2. Why should I be surprised? It’s only been two years, one month, and five days since your last post. What I am, is very happy to see you writing again. Especially now that I’m one of those people who has met you in the flesh. Been there (with you), done that (with you), and got some photos to show for it.

    One question — who are you, now that you are no longer quite exactly MO’Jenn?

    • mojenn says:

      You know, I was thinking this very thing today, and while I’ll always be both Mo’Jenn and Jenn in Holland, I should probably think of something fitting as a blog name now that I’m back in AZ. Think, think, think…
      ~jenn

  3. (But who’s counting?)

    *giggle* I’m glad you were. Counting, that is.;)
    ~jenn

  4. Nancy Fish says:

    I am totally on board with this concept of home. I have one legal residence, but several homes, including the one I am in now. It was not home for a long time after we moved in, but it has become that. I also have a home in Florida, a couple in Iowa, and am thinking that it will not take long after arriving in Phoenix to find another home there. Familiar stuff helps, but familiar faces seal the deal.

    • mojenn says:

      Perfectly said, my friend. Perfectly said. Can’t wait to see you and show you this sweet home.
      ~jenn

  5. Well, well, well. Welcome back to the blogosphere, and welcome back to the desert. I wonder if we are neighbors? 😉

    • mojenn says:

      You know, I was just wondering that very thing… also, since I’ve been gone so long, just wondering how you are. I am so glad you popped ’round.
      ~jenn

      • You popped up in Google Reader, and I thought, “Whoa! Stranger’s back!” 🙂 For the record, I live in the NW Valley. E-mail me, and I’ll give you more specifics if you’re interested.

  6. Well if you are writing then it means I prolly will be doing so soon. You always inspire me, move me and usually make me giggle or at least smile. Can’t wait to hear your story of how you arrived at your old house! Can’t wait to hear the house’s story of what it went thru to get you back (if anyone can coax those wall to talk it is you my Darlin’!). Yours has been a “long and winding road” and I feel blessed to have been a waystop along your journey! May your fingers continue to itch and your adventures continue to be delicious!

    • mojenn says:

      I could be blamed for lots of things, I suppose. Inspiring a great writer to write? I’ll take that. Thanks for being there with us on the journey.
      ~jenn

  7. Louise Innes says:

    Love your post Jenn. So glad you are writing.

    Louise

  8. Goofball says:

    Really honest: the big shock was getting a comment on my blog! Yeay, thanks for visiting again. And hurray hurray hurray for your itchy writing fingers. Keep it up, I love it.

    Wow, same house itself. I am curious for that story.

  9. mymommysplace says:

    Oh Jenn, how I have missed you! I’m glad you’re back to blogging. 🙂

    Oh, Buck, I love you so. Glad to be here.
    ~jenn

  10. Nice to see you back.

Leave a Reply

